Verseless New Testament: 1 Corinthians (Part 2)

Also, brothers, I was not able to speak to you as spiritual men, but as fleshy, as to infants in Christ. I gave you milk to drink, not food, for you were not able to eat it. But now you are still not able to eat, for you are still fleshy. For whereas among you there is jealousy and strife, are you not fleshy and walk according to man? For whenever anyone says “I am of Paul,” or another, “I am of Apollos,” are you not men? Who (or what) therefore is Apollos? Who (or what) is Paul? Ministers through whom you believed even as to each one the Lord gave. I planted, Apollos watered, but God made the growth, so that neither the one planting is anything, nor the one watering, but the one making you grow is God. So the one planting and the one watering are one and each one has his own reward he will receive according to his own labor.

For we are fellow workers of God; among a tillage of God; (and) you are (also) a building of God. According to the grace of God given to me  as a wise master builder, I laid on a foundation, but another builds on it. But let each one look how he builds on it. For no foundation besides the one being built on is able to be built on, that is, on Jesus Christ,. Now if anyone builds on a foundation using gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, or stubble, each one will become manifest, for the day will declare it because by fire it is revealed…and the work of each one, it is the fire that will prove it. If of anyone the work remains which he builds on, he will receive a reward. If the work of anyone will be consumed, he will suffer loss, but he will be saved, yet so as through the fire. Know you not that you are a temple (shrine) of God, and that the Spirit of God dwells in you? If anyone defiles the temple (shrine) of God, God will defile this man, for the temple of God is holy, which you are.

Let no one deceive himself; if anyone thinks he is wise among you in this age, let him become foolish, in order that he may become wise. For the wisdom of this world is folly with God. For it has been written: The wise are caught in their craftiness…and again…the Lord knows the reasonings of the wise, that they are in vain.

So let no one boast in man, for all things are yours, whether Paul, Apollos, or Peter, or the world, life, or death, or the word or things present, or things coming, all things are yours, and you are of Christ, and Christ of God.

So let a man reckon us as attendants of Christ and stewards of the mysteries of God. And among stewards it is sought that they be found faithful. To me it is a very little thing that I be judged by you or by the day of human judgement. But I do not judge myself, for against myself I know nothing- but not by this have I been justified, for the one judging me is The Lord. So, you, do not judge anything before the time, until the Lord comes, who will both shed light on the hidden things of darkness and will manifest the counsels of the hearts, and then the praise will be given to each one from God.

Now these things, brothers, I adapted to myself and Apollos because of you, in order that among us, you may learn not to (go/think) above what things have been written, lest you are puffed up against one another on behalf of one. For who distinguishes you? And what have you that you did not receive? And if you did receive, why do you boast as if not receiving? Now you are full (glutted); now you have become rich. You reigned without us. And it is an advantage that you reigned, in order that we might reign with you.

For God showed forth the last apostles as doomed to death, for we became a spectacle to the world, both to angels and to men. We are fools because of Christ, but you are prudent in Christ. We are weak, but you are strong. You are held in honor, but we are not honored. Until the present hour, we hunger, thirst, are naked, are attacked, and unsettled, working labor with our own hands. Being reviled, we bless. Being persecuted, we endure. Being defamed, we beseech. We have become as refuse of the world, the scum of all things, until now.

I write these things not to shame you, but as admonishing my beloved children. For if you have ten thousand trainers in Christ, yet not many are fathers, for in Christ Jesus through the gospel I begat (gave birth to) you. I urge you, therefore, become imitators of me. Because of this very thing I sent to you Timothy, my beloved and faithful child in the Lord, who will remind you of my way in Christ Jesus, as I teach in every gathering (or assembly/church).

Now when I did not come to you, some were puffed up. But I will come shortly to you, if the Lord wills, and I will not know the speech of the ones having been puffed up, but the power. For the Kingdom of God is not in speech but in power.

 

 

Leave a Reply

